Coordination of RISC-V Integration in TVM

A few words about myself

I am a PhD student and have been working with TVM for over a year. My main field of research is TinyML and RISC-V based microcontrollers. Thus, I work on supporting bare metal 32-bit RISC-V targets (Actual hardware and simulators) using the MicroTVM Platform.

Background / Motivation

Over the past years, there has been a lot of interest in supporting RISC-V hardware in the TVM Compiler Suite. While some attempts have been made in the past, nothing has ended up upstreamed in the TVM repository. As several teams/individuals seem to be working in the same direction at the moment, it would make sense to align these efforts to reduce the risk of duplicate work and agree on some relevant design decisions beforehand.

What is currently supported?

While RISC-V is not yet officially supported by TVM, it can already be used using the default LLVM-based flow or the MicroTVM APIs (via the RISC-V QEMU running on the Zephyr Platform). However, the generated code (falling back to default or ARM schedules) is not yet optimized for the RISC-V ISA. Thus performance will not be optimal.

What is required?

In my opinion, the following baseline tasks:

• Integrate support for RISC-V ISA simulation (ISS) in TVMs CI scripts and unit tests.
  • Decide how to detect the available RISC-V ISA extensions. Align this with the work done for ARM Cortex-M MCUs?
  • Add RISC-V specific schedules (default, packed (sub-word SIMD), and vector (super-word SIMD) in TVM: either starting with generating schedules or based on the current arm_cpu schedules. (See tracking issue: https://github.com/apache/tvm/issues/10141)
  • We also eventually need type legalizations, alter_op_layout, and the operator strategies
  • Generate AutoTVM logs for relevant models on RISC-V hardware and add them to the top hub (https://github.com/tlc-pack/tophub) repository. This should help to get better default performance for some use cases.