If target = 'c', how to execute the c program?

I’m new to TVM, does anyone know how to execute the C code generated by “relay.build”?

relay.build doesn’t generate C code for execution. It generates LLVM IR (in the case of CPU) and compiles directly to the executable binary.

Thank you for your reply. I’m confused whether tvm can compile the a tensorflow model to a c program .

Why you need to get a model in a C program? In general it’s not effective for compilers to generate human readable C code unless this is the only format that the corresponding vendor tool chain accepts. For example, TVM does have a C-like codegen, but it generates OpenCL code for non-NVIDIA GPUs.

Because I want to add a new backend in TVM, but there is no LLVM support for our backend. So I plan to compile the model to c code(it only supports c).

Then you could consider the BYOC flow. You could refer to a recent effort that integrates NVIDIA CUTLASS with BYOC flow and the C codegen:

Ok, thank you for your reply.

That means this PR will generate the C code for CUTLASS?

Hi @haruhi / @comaniac,

The C code generation is also used in microTVM. Our demo applications for the microNPU is a good example for this, it uses the host toolchain to compile the C output from TVM and that makes it easier to align the compilation flags as well as some features (such as the Ahead-of-Time Executor) only existing for the C output right now.

Also, if you want to add a new backend to TVM, I’d suggest looking at Target Hooks which can use more of the existing TVM code generation infrastructure - there’s an example Target you can use for reference.

hello, in fact, I’m a lot confused by the terminology “C code generation”. I wonder whether I can understand that you can generate the C code compiled by GCC. Looking forward to your reply.