How to use dynamic shape in relax?

Hi,

I recently begin to take to look for new dynamic shape feature supported by relax. While checking testcases as tests/python/relax/test_codegen_cutlass.py, I don’t see any dynamic shape infer has been made as a show case, or am I missing?

So what I want to know is for one simple conv2d forward, how could I test its dynamic shape feature with relax and use backend like cutlass?

Thx

1 Like

I’m also new to relax. I think currently the best practice for dynamic shape in relax is MLC-LLM that uses it to handle the dynamic sequence length. As for your question, I find that there are some symbolic shapes like _vars[“a”] in tests/python/relax/test_codegen_cutlass.py. Relax uses it to represent the dynamic axis in the shape.

1 Like

MLC-LLM is too complex to use as a start point to investigate the dynamic shape feature…

I try to modify test case in test_codegen_cutlass.py as below, and enable dynamic shape as below.

@tvm.script.ir_module
class Conv2dBiasReLU:
    @R.function
    def main(
        data: R.Tensor((1, tvm.tir.expr.Var("a", "int64"), 400, 16), "float32"),
        weight: R.Tensor((32, 3, 3, 16), "float32"),
        bias: R.Tensor((1, 1, 1, 32), "float32"),
    ):
        with R.dataflow():
            conv1 = R.nn.relu(
                R.nn.conv2d(data, weight, padding=(1, 1), data_layout="NHWC", kernel_layout="OHWI")
                + bias,
            )
            R.output(conv1)

return conv1

mod = Conv2dBiasReLU
mod = partition_for_cutlass(mod)
codegen_pass = relax.transform.RunCodegen({"cutlass": {"sm": 80, "find_first_valid": True}})
mod = codegen_pass(mod)

But error occurs:

op_name, op_def, _ = self.conv2d_profiler.profile(
  File "/data/dev/tvm_dev/mlc-llm/3rdparty/tvm/python/tvm/contrib/cutlass/gen_conv2d.py", line 356, in profile
    op = self.select_op(
  File "/data/dev/tvm_dev/mlc-llm/3rdparty/tvm/python/tvm/contrib/cutlass/gen_conv2d.py", line 309, in select_op
    args = (